Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

When I first saw this challenge I thought to myself, oh well, another one I’m just gonna give a miss. However, later that day I recalled telling myself, “wait a minute, I have many treasures and I’m sure I can find some.

So here we are with this humble but very valuable to me, dictionary.

It was 1978 and I had just started secondary One level in school. My late, great, grandfather (God bless his soul), saw that I was struggling with my bag load of school books which included a huge dictionary as required by the school. He must’ve sympathised me so much that he had gone and bought me this tiny but loaded with information, Collins dictionary. Although I struggled and argued with him that teachers at school might get mad if I don’t carry the prescribed one, he assured me that that, would never happen because a dictionary is a dictionary. You see, back then I’ve never heard of a dictionary until it was a requirement in the book list for that year, let alone know how to use one.

I’ve travelled to many places in my life and each time I have had to pack my belongings, I never gave it a second thought when it came to packing this dictionary. Its something I hold so dear to my heart, as my late, great, grandpa is, always to me. He made growing up a little easier, being around to answer as much questions as he could from a curious mind, whenever mom and dad were busy. The treasure here is his unconditional love to all of us in the family until his dying day. He had done so much for us and I’m fortunate to hold on to this treasure he handed to me.

Time is a good teacher and that huge dictionary was hardly of any use to me after this one came along. Suffice to say, many words were discovered from this dictionary and everytime, everytime, I see or hold it, fond memories of late, great, grandpa would come flooding back.

This entry is also dedicated to and in fond memories of my beloved, late Tok Amoh.

image

image

image

image

image

DISCLAIMER: Images & articles © 2000- Present Point, Shoot, Blog. All rights reserved.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Wonderful heartwarming post!

    1. L says:

      Thank you for your kind words. This is indeed a precious entry for.me.

  2. Knowledge is priceless so are the treasures memories with our love ones. Wonderful post!

    1. L says:

      Many thanks, IT. This one is close to my heart ❤

  3. dzmalik says:

    cool 🙂

    1. L says:

      Terimakasih 🙂

  4. good subject choice!

    1. L says:

      Thank you, Lucy. Some great memories there too.

Any Thoughts? Leave A Message

