Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life

Street Life is this week’s theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge.

SteetArt-03-1-1

When you’re in South Africa and walking the streets you can always be rest assured of catching something interesting. Your paths could take you from a quiet, neat road, to one that is busy and bustling with drama and energy next and all these just within a few turns from the other. It’s all a welcoming sight to me as coming from Asia, I find the South African culture loud, expressive and full of vigor. Their expressiveness don’t just stop at demanding a greeting from you when you are in their presence or when starting a conversation with them but it goes all the way to their dressing too. Oh, you don’t believe me? Try entering a lift full of ladies without any greetings and you’ll be sorry you didn’t. Anyway, as far as dressing is concerned I’ll let the visuals speak for itself 😉

SteetArt-05When I arrived at the scene yesterday, there was already a small crowd forming a semi circle and hiding the visual that I was highly eager to feast my eyes upon because the drums and the beat of a loud and danceable melody was beckoning me. As I got closer and managed to squeeze into a street stall selling the usual tidbits, I saw this very entertaining and colourful street performance.

For your information, this is actually a typical sight during weekends. This is how locals who consider themselves talented would set out in the streets, usually in the taxi ranks where the crowd is, to sell their CDs (bananas not included). It sure adds life to the streets and the entertainment is free too.

Although I don’t understand the language, I sometimes buy the CD just to enjoy the music. So…. now you know something about the self-made (literally), local music scene of South Africa 😉

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Great photos for the challenge. I love the entertainers. 🙂

    1. L says:

      Heeee….thanks, Iris! So do I – they’re full of animation, eh?

      I’d like to welcome you to PSB and hope you enjoy your visits here. Happy to make your acquaintance 🙂

      L

    1. L says:

      Thank you! Happy you like it 🙂

  2. Harold Green says:

    Thank you for discovering my photography blog http://www.throughharoldslens.com.
    You gave me the opportunity to discover, explore and follow your blog. I hope we both enjoy our journeys.
    To help launch you on your journey, I thought you might enjoy a couple of “Quick Links” to a few of my favorites, from over 200 posts, on Through Harold’s Lens:
    “Five Senses”
    http://throughharoldslens.com/2013/06/20/five-senses-european-tour/
    “Maiden Mild”
    http://throughharoldslens.com/2013/06/12/maiden-mild-european-tour/
    “Shaken, Not Stirred”
    http://throughharoldslens.com/2013/09/13/shaken-not-stirred-european-tour/
    On behalf of the Through Harold’s Lens Creative Team, my trusty sidekick Mr. SLR Nikon, his brother Mr. Pen Pal and myself, we wish you the best.
    Regards,
    Harold

    1. L says:

      Dear Harold,

      Thank you for dropping by and for your kind words. I’ll be sure to check out those links you sent too. You are one of many who are encouraging to me and keeping me inspired to share more stories on this platform. I would like to welcome you on board PSB and hope you enjoy your trips here.

      Regards,
      L

Any Thoughts? Leave A Message